Tags

, , , ,

The day before yesterday I promised you more pictures from the Small Fortress outside of Theresienstadt but unfortunately I wasn’t able to keep that promise. I hope that a day late is good enough for you.

Arbeit Macht Frei

‘Arbeit macht frei’. The same message as in Auschwitz met the prisoners here as well. It was of course a lie and there wasn’t anything the poor people could do about their horrible fate.

Hospital

I’m not exactly sure what the purpose of this room was but it looks like some kind of examination room. I doubt that it was for the prisoners though. 

Swallow

A room full of rusty old beds. Yet again I’m not sure who used them. All I know is that lots of swallows use the empty rooms for their nests.

Pool

The remains of an old swimming pool. This was used by the Nazis for leisure on the spare time.

